Adam Myerson, Andrea Smith claim 2010 Verge series crowns

Adam Myerson, Andrea Smith claim 2010 Verge series crowns.

2010 NBX GP, day 2, Smith and Elliott
Smith follows Elliott. Photo: Laura Kozlowski |

Adam Myerson (Cycle-Smart) and Andrea Smith (LadiesFirst Racing) captured the overall titles in the 2010 Verge New England Championship Cyclocross Series on Sunday.

The final round of the series saw seasonably cold temperatures but surprisingly dry conditions for day 2 of the NBX GP of ‘Cross at Goddard Park in Warwick, Rhode Island. The course favored bike handlers, with tight, rooty turns, few open flat sections and a second sand run, adding insult to the injury of the long run from Saturday’s course.

The elite women’s race saw series leader Sally Annis ( Cycles) off the front with a group that included teammate Sara Bresnick-Zocchi; LadiesFirst racers Smith and Crystal Anthony; C3-Athletes Serving Athletes teammates Laura Van Gilder and Arley Kemmerer; and the lone Canadian, Natasha Elliott (Garneau-Club Chaussures).

The group whittled itself down over the course of the race with Anthony falling off the pace and Kemmerer succumbing to a mechanical that forced her to abandon. At the front, Smith powered along with Van Gilder stuck to her wheel.

Annis, Bresnick-Zocchi and Elliott let small gaps open through the corners and had to chase back on. As the race wore on, those gaps grew to a point that was barely manageable, and Annis was turning herself inside out to stay in contact.

On the final lap, as Smith and Van Gilder pushed the pace, Annis finally lost the wheel. Smith and Van Gilder hit the pavement at the same time and Van Gilder locked up the victory with a rapid sprint. Smith raised her hands as she crossed the finish line, knowing that her second place would be good enough to take the series title.

Bresnick-Zocchi and Annis hit the pavement 13 seconds later with Bresnick-Zocchi taking the sprint for third.

The final series podium saw Smith wearing the jersey with Annis second and Van Gilder in third.

Myerson comes from behind

For the elite men, the series came down to a duel between Adam Myerson (Cycle-Smart) and series leader Justin Lindine (’s Garage), who had led the series since taking the jersey from Tim Johnson ( in New Gloucester, Maine.

2010 NBX GP, day 2, Myerson
Myerson over the hurdles. Photo: Peter Ozolins Photography

The early selection contained Myerson, Lindine, Derrick St John (Garneau-Club Chaussure), Lindine’s teammate Manny Goguen, Nick Keough (Champion System-Keough Cyclocross) and Josh Dillon (Richard Sachs-RGM Watches).

The group stayed together for nearly the entire race. St John fell victim to a flat tire and slow bike change and Goguen fell off the pace, but both were able to get back on board.

The leaders held together until the second pass through the sand on the last lap. Myerson took advantage of another rider’s bobble to attack, with Keough and St John on his wheel. Lindine fought to come back but couldn’t regain contact in the last few hundred meters.

Coming onto the pavement, Keough gained a slight advantage over Myerson and held it across the line for the first-ever UCI victory for the U-23 series champion. Myerson finished second, claiming the series title, with Lindine third.

Complete results

Quick results

  • 1. Nicholas Keough, Champion System-Keough Cyclocross, 1:03:50
  • 2. Adam Myerson, Cycle-Smart, 1:03:51
  • 3. Derrick St John, Garneau Club Chaussures, 1:03:52
  • 4. Justin Lindine,’s Garage, 1:03:52
  • 5. Josh Dillon, Richard Sachs-RGM Watches, 1:03:55


  • 1. Laura Van Gilder, C3-Athletes Serving Athletes, 37:25
  • 2. Andrea Smith, LadiesFirst Racing, same time
  • 3. Sara Bresnick-Zocchi, Cycles, 37:38
  • 4. Sally Annis, Cycles, 37:38
  • 5. Natasha Elliott, Garneau-Club Chaussures, 37:40