Abbott, Acevedo wrap up 2013 San Dimas titles

J.J Haedo and Gillian Carleton win final-stage criterium in U.S. stage racing warm-up

Mara Abbott (Exergy Twenty16) and Janier Acevedo (Jamis-Hagens Berman) won the women’s and men’s overall, respectively, at the San Dimas Stage Race in California on Sunday.

Gillian Carleton (Specialized-lululemon) won the women’s stage 3 criterium on Sunday ahead of Brianna Walle (Optum-Kelly Benefit Strategies) and Loren Rowney (Specialized). Abbott’s win in Friday’s opening time trial carried through the weekend and she secured the GC Sunday, nine seconds ahead of Amber Neben (Dare To Be Project) and 23 seconds better than Walle.

J.J. Haedo (Jamis) won Sunday’s men’s criterium ahead of Brad Huff (Jelly Belly-Kenda) and Bobby Lea (SmartStop-Mountain Khakis). Acevedo left San Dimas with a nine-second GC win over Matthew Cooke (Champion System-Stan’s NoTubes). Carter Jones (Bissell) was third overall and the race’s best young rider, finishing 26 seconds off of Acevedo’s time.

Men’s stage 1 winner Phil Gaimon (Bissell) crashed out of the race on Saturday and was evacuated from the venue by helicopter. He left the hospital later Saturday.