Race Report
Photo: Amaia Zabalo/Getty Images

Alaphilippe sprints to his first Clásica San Sebastián win

After escaping on the final climb, Julian Alaphilippe sprints to victory in Clásica San Sebastián Saturday in Spain.

After escaping on the final climb with Bauke Mollema, Julian Alaphilippe out-sprinted the Trek-Segafredo rider to win Clásica San Sebastián Saturday in Spain.

Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) is coming off of a sterling Tour de France that saw him win the king of the mountains classification as well as two stages. French champion Anthony Roux (Groupama-FDJ) was third in the sprint from a small chase group at the end of the 228.7km race.

“I’ve had a good season,” said Alaphilippe. “I was well placed for this sprint. I waited until the last moment because I knew the climb was very difficult and when Mollema decided to go for it I followed him.”

The finale was marred by a major crash in the peloton on a straight road that caught out a few favorites with around 20 kilometers to go.

Most notably, climbers Mikel Landa (Movistar) and Egan Bernal (Team Sky) were forced to abandon due to injuries. Emergency staff put a neck brace on Landa before moving him onto a stretcher. Bernal was also taken off the road on a stretcher.

Colombian Bernal suffered “a serious facial trauma.”

“He is awake and talking. He has had a precautionary scan to assess for further injuries which revealed a nasal fracture and maxillary injury,” Team Sky said in a statement.

The 21-year-old will remain in hospital overnight for observation and further treatment.

Movistar said Landa was left in “huge pain” with a sore back and placed in an immobilizing brace. He was set to undergo exams to determine the extent of his injuries.

LottoNL-Jumbo’s Antwan Tolhoek hit out with about nine kilometers to go on the early slopes of Alto de Murgil.

As the slope pitched up to 17 percent gradient, he was joined by Groupama-FDJ’s Rudy Molard. The duo had a slight lead over the chase group of four riders, but it wouldn’t hold.

Mollema rode clear and caught the early escapees. He was followed by Alaphilippe over the top of the last climb.

Tolhoek and Greg Van Avermaet (BMC Racing) chased about 30 seconds behind into the final kilometer, but they would not be able to catch the lead duo.

Alaphilippe led out the sprint with 500 meters to go, nervously checking over his shoulder to see if the chasers were approaching.

They weren’t, leaving it up to him and his Dutch companion to sprint for the win.

Mollema had no response to Alaphilippe’s turn of speed, and the Frenchman won his first Txapela Basque beret — the traditional prize given to the victor of Clásica San Sebastián.

Clasica Ciclista San Sebastian One Day Race Results

1ALAPHILIPPE JulianQuick-Step Floors6:03:45
2MOLLEMA BaukeTrek - Segafredo,,
3ROUX AnthonyGroupama - FDJ0:16
4VAN AVERMAET GregBMC Racing Team,,
5SIMON JulienCofidis, Solutions Crédits,,
6URÁN RigobertoTeam EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale,,
7IZAGIRRE IonBahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team,,
8GESINK RobertTeam LottoNL-Jumbo,,
9KRUIJSWIJK StevenTeam LottoNL-Jumbo,,
10TOLHOEK AntwanTeam LottoNL-Jumbo,,
11MOLARD RudyGroupama - FDJ0:20
12MARTIN DanUAE-Team Emirates0:43
13SKUJIŅŠ TomsTrek - Segafredo0:48
14ANTÓN IgorTeam Dimension Data0:49
15IMPEY DarylMitchelton-Scott0:51
16KUZNETSOV ViacheslavTeam Katusha Alpecin,,
17ULISSI DiegoUAE-Team Emirates,,
18BILBAO PelloAstana Pro Team,,
19KNOX JamesQuick-Step Floors,,
20VANENDERT JelleLotto Soudal,,
21EDET NicolasCofidis, Solutions Crédits,,
22ARANBURU AlexCaja Rural - Seguros RGA,,
23SERRY PieterQuick-Step Floors,,
24FRAILE OmarAstana Pro Team0:52
25NIEVE MikelMitchelton-Scott,,
26CASTROVIEJO JonathanTeam Sky1:13
27MORABITO SteveGroupama - FDJ,,
28BERNARD JulienTrek - Segafredo,,
29CLARKE SimonTeam EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale,,
30MARTÍNEZ Daniel FelipeTeam EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale,,
31BAUER JackMitchelton-Scott1:40
32MCCARTHY JayBORA - hansgrohe2:22
33STALNOV NikitaAstana Pro Team,,
34POLANC JanUAE-Team Emirates,,
36PEREZ AnthonyCofidis, Solutions Crédits,,
37ZAKARIN IlnurTeam Katusha Alpecin,,
38PARDILLA SergioCaja Rural - Seguros RGA,,
39NAVARRO DanielCofidis, Solutions Crédits,,
40CAVAGNA RémiQuick-Step Floors,,
41AMADOR AndreyMovistar Team,,
42RIABUSHENKO AlexandrUAE-Team Emirates3:32
43SCHULTZ NickCaja Rural - Seguros RGA,,
44PERNSTEINER HermannBahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team,,
45LASTRA JonathanCaja Rural - Seguros RGA,,
46MEINTJES LouisTeam Dimension Data,,
47EZQUERRA JesúsBurgos-BH4:24
48ITURRIA MikelEuskadi - Murias,,
49NARVÁEZ JhonatanQuick-Step Floors4:26
50DE KORT KoenTrek - Segafredo4:49
51DE LA CRUZ DavidTeam Sky,,
52JUNGELS BobQuick-Step Floors,,
53VALLS RafaelMovistar Team,,
54BOL JetseBurgos-BH5:21
55MATTHEWS MichaelTeam Sunweb5:47
56HINDLEY JaiTeam Sunweb,,
57SCHÄR MichaelBMC Racing Team6:43
58TUSVELD MartijnTeam Sunweb6:55
59KOZHATAYEV BakhtiyarAstana Pro Team,,
60KUDUS MerhawiTeam Dimension Data7:54
61CATALDO DarioAstana Pro Team,,
62HIRT JanAstana Pro Team,,
63KING BenTeam Dimension Data8:37
64BOSWELL IanTeam Katusha Alpecin,,
65DE LA PARTE VíctorMovistar Team,,
66KOCHETKOV PavelTeam Katusha Alpecin,,
67BARTHE CyrilEuskadi - Murias9:21
68SIMÓN JordiBurgos-BH,,
69RODRÍGUEZ SergioEuskadi - Murias,,
70SCOTSON MilesBMC Racing Team,,
71FABBRO MatteoTeam Katusha Alpecin,,
72SMIT WillieTeam Katusha Alpecin,,
73OLIVEIRA NelsonMovistar Team,,
74AMEZQUETA JulenCaja Rural - Seguros RGA10:15
75GEOGHEGAN HART TaoTeam Sky10:29
76HAMILTON ChrisTeam Sunweb,,
77ANACONA WinnerMovistar Team,,
78ASGREEN KasperQuick-Step Floors,,
79LAENGEN Vegard StakeUAE-Team Emirates,,
80DUPONT HubertAG2R La Mondiale11:35
81TORRES PabloBurgos-BH13:31
82MACHADO TiagoTeam Katusha Alpecin,,

Results provided by ProCyclingStats.