Peter Sagan will bring the world championships...

Seven WorldTeams sign up for Tour de San Luis

Seven WorldTeams, a lineup that includes some of the top riders in the peloton, are slated to compete in the January stage race.

The Tour de San Luis promises to confirm its place on the international calendar with a star-laden field for its 10th edition early in 2016.

Race officials confirmed seven UCI WorldTeams will line up January 18-24 as part of a field of 27 teams to fill out the peloton. Confirmed starters include Nairo Quintana, Vincenzo Nibali, and reigning world champion Peter Sagan.

“It will be an impressive race to celebrate 10 years of the sport,” said ex-pro and agent Giovanni Lombardi, who helps organize the race. “Europe looks to the Tour de San Luis as a history-making race, and everyone can’t wait for January.”

The week-long Argentine race has grown over the past decade to become a popular season opener for many top international teams and riders, serving up mild weather conditions and intense racing in January each year.

Other likely starters include Andrew Talansky (Cannondale-Garmin), Rafal Majka (Tinkoff-Saxo), Fernando Gaviria (Etixx-Quick-Step), and Alexis Vuillermoz (Ag2r La Mondiale).

Confirmed WorldTeams include Tinkoff-Saxo, Movistar, Cannondale-Garmin, Etixx-Quick-Step, Astana, Ag2r La Mondiale, and Lampre-Merida.

Six Pro Continental teams will also race, including UnitedHealthcare, Drapac, Androni, Nippo-Vini Fantini, Fortuneo Vital-Concept, and Delko Marseille-Provence KTM.

Six more continental teams, including Jamis and Holowesko-Citadel, and eight national teams round out the peloton of 27 squads.

The race already revealed its race course in September, with a team time trial and two mountaintop finales.

10th Tour de San Luis (2.1), January 18-24

Stage 1: El Durazno, 21km (TTT)
Stage 2: San Luis to Villa Mercedes, 181.9km
Stage 3: Potrero de Los Funes to La Punta Cabildo, 131km
Stage 4: Terrazas del Portezuelo to Cerro El Amago, 140km (mountaintop finale)
Stage 5: Renca to Juana Koslay, 168.7km
Stage 6: La Toma to Filo de la Sierra de Comechingones, 159.5km (mountaintop finale)
Stage 7: San Luis-San Luis, 119.6km