Cannondale-Garmin carries on Slipstream Sports'...

Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling unveils 2015 roster

Slipstream Sports' plans to cultivate young riders like Talansky and Dombrowski with a diverse roster of 27 racers

In late August, Slipstream Sports and Cannondale announced that the organizations would join forces in 2015. On Friday, details of the new team came into focus.

The squad will be known as Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling, and it will have a young roster of 27 athletes from 14 different countries. Cannondale will be the title sponsor and technical bicycle sponsor for the team, and it has taken an ownership stake in the management organization of Slipstream Sports LLC. Garmin will remain co-title sponsor. It has been a key Slipstream Sports partner since 2008.

Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling will continue its mission of developing young riders, with the addition of Joe Dombrowski, Alberto Bettiol, Davide Formolo, Matej Mohoric, Kristoffer Skjerping, Davide Villella, and Ruben Zepuntke to the 2015 roster.

The team will be anchored by experienced riders, such as: Dan Martin, winner of the 2014 Giro di Lombardia and seventh in the 2014 Vuelta a España; Ryder Hesjedal, 2012 Giro d’Italia champion and 2014 Vuelta stage 14 winner; Ramunas Navardauskas, 2014 Tour de France stage 19 winner and Lithuanian time trial champion; and Andrew Talansky, 2014 Critérium du Dauphiné winner and the top American in the 2013 Tour de France (10th overall).

“I’m very excited about our 2015 team. We began as a small group with the mission of developing young riders, and we have stayed true to that mission year after year, even as we have grown,” said Jonathan Vaughters, CEO, Slipstream Sports and Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling. “2015 is our youngest group of athletes yet, and it’s also young in that it’s a new team, and we have joined forces with Cannondale.

“That gives us huge opportunities. What you can expect to see is an extremely talented group of young riders who will benefit greatly from the leadership and guidance of more experienced guys like Langeveld, Martin, Hesjedal, and Talansky. This is a team that will come into racing with a lot of enthusiasm and spirit, and will rely on teamwork, tactics, perseverance, and creativity to give great performances.”

Director Charly Wegelius said, “Anytime you have the benefit of youth and experience, you are poised for growth and opportunity. Every rider on this team is capable of greatness, and together as a team, we have huge potential. Our goal will be to harness that potential, relying on our more experienced guys, to create a very exciting year.”

The riders of Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling will meet for the first time in Wilton, Connecticut, and will then travel to the British Virgin Islands where they will set sail for four days around the Island of Tortola. This trip, centered on team-building and leadership, will also include off-boat activities such as hiking and swimming.

“Like cycling, sailing is a team sport,” said Vaughters. “The idea with sailing and living on the boats is to take these guys totally out of their comfort zone and get to know each other and work together under difficult circumstances. For many, if not most, this will be a totally foreign activity — so they will need to support each other just as they will all season during races.”

Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling 2015

Janier Acevedo
Jack Bauer
Alberto Bettiol
Nathan Brown
André Cardoso
Tom Danielson
Joe Dombrowski
Davide Formolo
Nathan Haas
Lasse Hansen
Ryder Hesjedal
Alex Howes
Ben King
Ted King
Kristjian Koren
Sebastian Langeveld
Alan Marangoni
Dan Martin
Matej Mohoric
Moreno Moser
Ramunas Navardauskas
Kristoffer Skjerping
Tom Jelte Slagter
Andrew Talansky
Dylan Van Baarle
Davide Villella
Ruben Zepuntke