Ned Overend, Tinker Juarez go 1-2 on Mount Washington as Marti Shea defends 2010 crown

Ned Overend and Tinker Juarez go one-two on Mount Washington as Marti Shea defends her 2010 crown.

A pair of 50-somethings — Ned Overend and Tinker Juarez — went one-two on Saturday at the 39th Mount Washington Auto Road Bicycle Hillclimb in Pinkham Notch, New Hampshire.

Overend, who was celebrating his 56th birthday, pulled away less than two miles into the 7.6-mile ascent and rode to the victory in 55 minutes and three seconds.

Juarez, 50, took the runner-up spot just over a minute later with Timothy Ahearn third at 3:19.

“It’s good to win,” said Overend as he cooled off at the summit. “I wanted to win, and I wouldn’t travel this far for it if I didn’t think I had a chance. Comparing past times with the others, I figured I should be the favorite, but I’m not getting any younger!”

It was the second consecutive runner-up finish for Juarez, who finished second to Nico Toutenhoofd in 2010.

“I had more confidence today,” said Juarez. “I knew what to expect. When Ned pulled away, though, I knew he was going to take it. Once you get a decent gap here, it’s hard for anyone to make it up on you. I love this climb!”

Marti Shea, just two years younger than Juarez, easily defended her 2010 Mount Washington crown on Saturday. Shea hit the finish in 1:04:12, more than six minutes ahead of runner-up Kristen Gohr and 13 minutes up on third-placed Sari Anderson.

Shea has her sights set on breaking the women’s course record of 58:14, set in 2000 by French cycling star Jeannie Longo. “Today I was on record pace for four miles,” she said. “I just have to figure out how to keep it up for seven and a half!”

The men’s record is 49:24, set in 2002 by Tom Danielson, who was the top American finisher in the 2011 Tour de France.

Quick results

  • 1. Ned Overend, 55:03
  • 2. Tinker Juarez, 56:14
  • 3. Timothy Ahearn, 58:22
  • 4. Chris Yura, 1:00:22
  • 5. Chris Hillier, 1:01:30


  • 1. Marti Shea, 1:04:12
  • 2. Kristen Gohr, 1:10:39
  • 3. Sari Anderson, 1:17:20
  • 4. Liz Feeney, 1:17:48
  • 5. Dominique Codere, 1:18:55