USA Cycling this weekend announced the five-day schedule for the 2010 national cyclocross championships in Bend, Oregon. The championships will take place for the second consecutive year in Bend, December 8-12, opening with time trial qualifiers for masters and single speed riders on day one.

All age-based categories will, for the first time, grid largely based on a time trial occurring earlier in the week and over the same time length as that race. Deschutes Brewery and the Northwest Crossing district will be the site of 34 championship events, including for the first time the men’s and women’s single speed events.

Promoter Brad Ross told VeloNews earlier that Bend would not host the event in 2011, but he would instead focus on preparing for the national marathon mountain bike and masters road championships. Both events will take place in Bend in 2011 and 2012.

The federation’s national events manager Micah Rice told VeloNews that he plans to announce the site and date of the 2011-12 championships within a matter of weeks. According to a source close to the situation who requested not to be identified, Traverse City, Michigan, and Madison, Wisconsin, are the front-runners to host the event.

2010 U.S. national cyclocross championships
December 8-12 Bend, Oregon

Schedule Highlights

December 9
3:30 p.m. Single Speed Male (40 min)
3:31 p.m. Single Speed Female (40 min)

December 11
10:30 a.m. Junior Male 17-18 (40 min)
1:00 p.m. U23 Male (50 min)
2:15 p.m. Master Male 35-39 (45 min)
3:30 p.m. Master Male 30-34 (45 min)

December 12
8:00 a.m. Collegiate Female D1/D2 (45 min)
9:00 a.m. Collegiate Male D1 (45 min)
10:00 a.m. Collegiate Male D2 (45 min)
12:30 p.m. Elite/U23 Female (40 min)
2:30 p.m. Elite Male (60 min)