ValueAct's Kristin McGrath is a former Collegiate All-Star
ValueAct’s Kristin McGrath is a former Collegiate All-Star

Photo: Garrett Lau

Six top collegiate women racers will race as an All-Star team at the Nature Valley Grand Prix next month, continuing a three-year old program that has helped nurture several professional careers.

The women were chosen based on the final omnium results at the collegiate road nationals in Fort Colllins, Colorado, earlier this month. Women who are not members of a professional or elite amateur team were eligible.

The six:

  • Sinead Miller (Marian College)
  • Tammy Wildgoose (University of California – San Diego)
  • Rita Klofta (DePauw University)
  • Kendi Thomas (Whitman College)
  • Emma Bast (Mount Holyoke College)
  • Erica Zaveta (University of Arizona

The team will be coached by John Barron and supported by free entry into the 2009 Nature Valley Grand Prix plus host housing, a support staff comprised of a team manager, mechanic and soigneur, an operating budget, clothing, and a travel stipend.

Several members of the inaugural 2007 Ryan team and the 2008 team have participated on, or are now part of, professional cycling teams, including: Penn State’s Erica Allar with Value Act Capital, Fort Lewis College’s Kristin McGrath with Value Act Capital, Lehigh University’s Andrea Luebbe with Verducci Breakaway Racing, Lees McRae College’s Carla Swart and Colorado State’s Amanda Miller with Team Lip Smackers, University of Arizona’s Chloe Forsman on the Luna Pro Team, and Harvard University’s Anna McLoon with the Altarum Professional Cycling Team.