By USA Cycling press release

2008 Kansas City Cyclocross Nationals: The races get underway this week.

2008 Kansas City Cyclocross Nationals: The races get underway this week.

Photo: ┬ę

Friday’s racing at the USA Cycling Cyclo-cross National Championships crowned 16 national champions in both junior and master categories and locked up a spot on the U.S. World Championship squad for one junior rider. Cyclists from as young as nine to 67 years of age contested the muddy course at Kansas City’s Tiffany Springs Park on the second day of competition at the 2008 national championships.

The most anticipated of the day’s events, the 17-18 junior men’s race, did not disappoint, featuring a pair of young powerhouse riders going head-to-head. Four-time 2008 USGP winner Zach McDonald (Bainbridge Island, Wash./Classic Cycles) and the world’s sixth-ranked junior rider Luke Keough (Sandwich, Mass./CL Noonan-KAM-Coast to Coast) started the race one and two and after 40 minutes of battling, that’s how they would end up. With his win McDonald locked up one of five spots on the U.S. National Team that will be heading to the Netherlands on Jan. 31 to contest the UCI Cyclo-cross Junior World Championships. With a top-five finish in a World Cup race earlier this season Keough has also punched his ticket.

As expected, the final race of the day saw Steve Tilford (Topeka, Kan./HRRC-Trek Stores) win another national championship in the 45-49 men’s race, but this time not without challenge. After starting somewhere in the third row, Oxnard, California’s Mark Noble (Time Factory Team) made his way to the front of the field and began gunning for Tilford. With a captivated crowd cheering him on Oxnard closed the gap to within about 20 seconds with two laps to go before Tilford held steady to win another national title. Kevin Hines (East Warhem, Mass./Corner Cycle) grabbed the bronze before an exciting sprint to the finish decided the remainder of the podium.

The USA Cycling Cyclo-cross National Championships will continue Saturday, with the U23 men and women and master men’s categories from ages 30 to 54 competing for six national titles.

Friday’s National Champions:

Women 10-12: Mina Anderburg (Louisville, Colo./Mudskippers)

Women 13-14: Sarah Huang (Kenosha, Wis./Hayes Disc Brakes)

Women 15-16: Alexis Ryan (Ventura, Calif./Team C.I.C.L.E)

Women 17-18: Coryn Rivera (Tustin, Calif./Team Redline)

Men 10-12: Ian McShane (Louisville, Ky./Red Zone Cycling)

Men 13-14: Logan Owen (Bremerton, Wash.)

Men 15-16: Jeff Bahnson (Newark, Del./Secret Henry’s Team-Van Dessell)

Men 17-18: Zach McDonald (Bainbridge Island, Wash./Classic Cycles)

Master Women 30-34: Maureen Bruno-Roy (Arlington, Mass./MM Racing-Seven Cycles)

Master Women 35-39: Sarah Kerlin (Capitola, Calif./HRS Rock Lobster)

Master Women 40-44: Wendy Williams (Portland, Ore./River City Bicycles)

Master Women 50-54: Kathy Sarvary (Lunenburg, Mass./Mid-State Cycling Club)

Master Women 55-59: Diane Ostenso (Cottage Grove, Wis./Planet Bike)

Master Women 60-64: Martha Iverson (Durango, Colo./Durango Wheel Club)

Master Women 65+: Julie Lockhart (Dunstable, Mass./NEBC-CycleLoft-Devonshire)

Master Men 45-49: Steve Tilford (Topeka, Kan.HRRC-Trek Stores)