Overend defends 50-54 crown

Selander and Driscoll battle for the line . . .

Selander and Driscoll battle for the line . . .

Photo: Casey B. Gibson

Bjorn Selander (Ridley Factory Team) came from behind to outkick Jamey Driscoll (FiordiFrutta) for the title in the under-23 men’s race Saturday at the windblown, snowswept USA Cycling Cyclocross National Championships in Kansas City, Kansas.

It was a true battle of the champions on the icy circuit in Wyandotte County Park — Selander, who took bronze the past two years when nats were in Rhode Island, first as a junior, then as a U23, also owns the 2004 junior men 17-18 national ‘cross title. Driscoll won the collegiate crown last year and the 17-18 race in 2003. And third-placed Danny Summerhill (Clif Bar Development) took the 17-18 race the past two years.

In the women’s U23 race, Amy Dombroski (Velo Bella-Kona), repeated her 2006 triumph, finishing more than a minute ahead of Kacey Manderfield (Verducci-Breakaway) with Kate Scheider (FTS-North Atlantic Velo) third.

. . . and Selander gets it

. . . and Selander gets it

Photo: Casey B. Gibson

Dombroski, a Boulder resident, tuned up for her title defense by taking second in last weekend’s Colorado ‘cross championships.

In masters racing, VeloNews.com diarist Brandon Dwight (Boulder Cycle Sport) successfully avoided a host of lapped riders to win a hard-fought 35-39 contest. Like Dombroski, Dwight took second in the men’s open race at last weekend’s Colorado state championships

Mark McCormack (Clif Bar), was not as fortunate as Dwight when the two ran into traffic — the 1997 elite national champ drilled a lapped rider in the final 600 meters, losing his chance to contest the sprint but hanging on for second.

Dombroski makes it back-to-back U23 victories

Dombroski makes it back-to-back U23 victories

Photo: Casey B. Gibson

Defending champion Richard Feldman (Durance Cycleworks), who also owns jerseys from 2004 (35+) and 2003 (30+) had to settle for third this time around..

Meanwhile, Andy Jacques-Maynes (California Giant Berry Farms) won the 30-34 race, beating Grant Berry (Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory) with Weston Schempf (C3-Sollay.com) taking the bronze.

Jacques-Maynes, who collected a collegiate ‘cross title in 2002, broke 16 bones in a hellish crash over Memorial Day weekend and wasn’t sure if he would be back on the bike this season.

But he showed the field what a hard man can do — even if, as he said afterward, it was so cold that his contact lenses started to ice up.

And in the final race of the day, which saw four masters categories on the course at the same time, Ned Overend — yes, that Ned Overend — added one more jersey to his overflowing closet, defending the 50-54 title he took last year in Providence.

Overend stacked it in the early going, banging up one shoulder, but bounced back for the win. Mark Kutney (Van Dessel Factory Team) took the silver with Norm Kreiss (Cal Giant-Specialized) scooping up the bronze.

“Even in the end, you had to be ready to put your foot down,” Overend said. “Your front wheel was just skittering all over the place. There was one line, but when we were lapping riders, you had to go outside of that line.”

Photo Gallery


USA Cycling Cyclocross National Championships
Kansas City, KS. Dec. 15

Under-23 men
1. Bjorn Selander, Ridley Factory Team, 43:43
2. James Driscoll, Fiordifrutta, same time
3. Danny Summerhill, Clif Bar Development, 45:21

Under-23 women
1. Amy Dombroski, Velo Bella-Kona, 36:20
2. Kacey Manderfield, Verducci-Breakaway, 37:33
3. Kate Scheider, FTS-North Atlantic Velo, 38:41

Masters 30-34
1. Andy Jacques-Maynes, California Giant Berry Farms, 46:19
2. Grant Berry, Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory, 46:22
3. Weston Schempf, C3-Sollay.com, 46:23

Masters 35-39
1. Brandon Dwight, Boulder Cycle Sport, 45:04
2. Mark McCormack, Team Clif Bar, 45:18
3. Richard Feldman, Durance Cycleworks, 46:58

Masters 40-44
1. James Coats, Morgan Stanley-Specialized, 37:42
2. Gannon Myall, California Giant Berry Farms, 38:12
3. Jeff Weinert, Giant, 38:17

Masters 50-54
1. Ned Overend, 38:13
2. Mark Kutney, Van Dessel Factory Team, 38:59
3. Norm Kreiss, Cal Giant-Specialized, 40:52

Masters 55-59
1. Fred Wittwer, Charlottesville Racing Club, 43:34
2. Robert Bieterman, Chipotle, 44:17
3. David Rath, GMBC-Catamount, 44:39

Complete results