1. VeloNews / News / Mountain / MTB News and Notes: Jeep KOM final; 24-hour world’s

MTB News and Notes: Jeep KOM final; 24-hour world’s

By VeloNews.com • Published

By Fred Dreier

MTB News and Notes: Kintner, Prokop take third Jeep KOM, Beerten, Prokop win overall; Llanes hospitalized after crash; Craig, Emmett take single speed world titles; Hermida bests everyone at final Swisspower; Floyd third at Shenandoah Mountain 100

By Fred DreierVeloNews Associate Editor

Two-time defending Jeep King of the Mountain world champions Jill Kintner (GT) and Michal Prokop (Author) won the third round of the 2007 series on Saturday in Beaver Creek, Colorado. Finishing second in the women’s race was Dutchwoman Anneke Beerten (Bikepark.ch), who, along with Prokop, took the three-race series title. The grand prize was a 2008 Jeep Liberty.

Kintner, who took the series in 2005 and 2006, handily defeated American Tara Llanes (Giant) in the semi finals, and then disposed of Beerten in the final round. However the American, who is the defending world and World Cup champion in four cross, missed the No. 2 Jeep race in San Luis Obispo, California, to compete in a BMX World Cup race in Beijing, China. Kintner hopes to qualify for the American Olympic squad in BMX for the 2008 Olympics.

Prokop, himself a contender in BMX for the Olympics and the defending World Cup and world four-cross champ, faced off against Australian Jared Graves (Yeti-Fox) in the finals. Prokop and Graves split the two-race finals, however the time differential between the two stood in Prokop’s favor.

The Jeep KOM champions are crowned based on a system of cumulative points earned throughout the three-event Jeep King of the series. In addition to Beaver Creek, previous races were held on August 4 at The Canyons Resort in Park City, Utah, and on August 18 at the Madonna Inn in San Luis Obispo, California.

Each race of the 2007 Jeep King of the Mountains is televised to a national broadcast audience on CBS Sports, representing the most expansive coverage of professional mountain bike racing in recent history. The race from Beaver Creek Resort will air on CBS Sports on October 21 (check local listings).

Jeep King of the Mountains
Round 3: Beaver Creek, Colorado
1. Michal Prokop – Czech Republic
2. Jared Graves – Australia
3. Wade Bootes – AustraliaWomen
1. Jill Kintner – Seattle, Wash.
2. Anneke Beerten – The Netherlands
3. Fionn Griffiths – UK
 Final 2007 Jeep King of the Mountains standings
1. Michal Prokop – Czech Republic
2. Wade Bootes – Australia, Cody Warren – Alpine, Calif. (tied)Women
1. Anneke Beerten – The Netherlands
2. Jill Kintner – Seattle, Wash, Fionn Griffiths – UK (tied)

Craig, Emmett take Single Speed titles
Giant teammates Adam Craig and Kelli Emmett won the 2007 single-speed cross-country world championships, held September 2 in Aviemore, Scotland. Both athletes followed up the victory by getting the customary single-speed world champion’s trophy: a large, unsightly tattoo.

Dressed in cutoff denim shorts and a denim vest, Craig sprang to the front of the men’s field alongside single-speed veteran Travis Brown (Trek-FRS) and Giant teammate Carl Decker, who was decked out in a kilt and plaid helmet cover. Despite suffering a crash and subsequent cut elbows, Craig outlasted the other two riders to take off-road racing’s arguably strangest prize.

In keeping with the dominant fashions of the weekend, Emmett took her win wearing a red tube top.

Hermida wins world’s warm-up race in Switzerland
Spaniard Jose Hermida (Multivan-Merida) took the final round of the 2007 Swisspower Cup, held in Mutternz, Switzerland on September 2. The Spaniard crossed the line with a 45-second buffer on Swiss Christoph Sauser. Reigning world cross-country champ Julien Absalon on France finished fourth, 1:16 back.

Schalk, Haywood win Shenandoah Mountain 100, Landis finishes third
Trek-Volkswagen teammates Jeff Schalk and Susan Haywood took Virginia’s Shenandoah Mountain 100 race on Sunday. The race was the final event of the 2007 National Ultra Endurance Series.

Schalk, who won the 2007 BC Bike Race alongside teammate Chris Eatough, took the lead in the men’s race after Eatough suffered a broken rear axle and withdrew. Although he suffered a DNF, Eatough took the series overall title.

Riding his second 100-mile mountain-bike race of the year, 2006 Tour de France champion Floyd Landis rode with Schalk and second-place finisher Harlan Price (Independent Fabrications) for much of the race. Landis finished in third place, 18:44 down on Schalk, and a minute behind Price.

Haywood, a two-time national short-track champion and the reigning 24-hour solo world champion, took the women’s race with a 49-minute advantage on Carolyn Popovic.

Related Articles