By team press releases

Ofoto-Lombardi Sports 2003 team announcement The Ofoto–Lombardi Sports Cycling Team on Friday announced the riders and sponsors for its 2003 squad. New to the team for the 2003 racing season will be: Switzerland’s Roman Peter (ex-Saint-Quentin Oktos), a former world junior cyclo-cross champion; Andy Bajadali, who had a breakout year as an amateur in 2002; Jon Erdelyi, silver medalist at the 2002 U.S. Under-23 Road Championships; and Saul Raisin, a talented young member of the US U-23 national team. The strength of the Team returns for 2003, led by Ireland’s David O’loughlin and America’s Erik Saunders, Jackson Stewart, and Tim Larkin. Young talents Peter Lopinto, Devon Hoff-Weekes, Russell Hamby, and the Canadian Greg Seiniewicz return as well. Following on its successful first year of professional status, Ofoto-Lombardi Sports continues into 2003 again as a UCI Tier III professional team. The team’s focus will again be on the U.S. road racing scene, with specific emphasis on the USPro Cycling Tour, the National Racing Calendar events, and the newly announced UCI-sanctioned Tour de Georgia. The Ofoto–Lombardi Sports Cycling Team will race exclusively on Litespeed titanium bicycles for the coming racing season. The following cycling-specific sponsors will be an integral part of the Team’s 2003 season: Litespeed – bicycles; Rolf Prima – wheels; FSA – cranks, handlebars, seat posts, and stems; Time – shoes and pedals; Shimano – components; Selle San Marco –saddles; Michelin – tires; Louis Garneau – clothing; Giro – helmets; Oakley – eyewear. The team is sponsored in part by Ofoto Inc. and Lombardi Sports. Ofoto Inc., a Kodak company, is the leader in online photography, providing photographic prints for both digital and film camera users. Ofoto offers a safe, easy and fun way for people to store, share and get prints of their digital and film images. More information is available at Lombardi Sports is the San Francisco Bay Area’s Premier Sporting Goods Retailer. More information is available at 2003 Team Roster: Andy Bajadali (USA)
Jon Erdeyli (USA)
Russell Hamby (USA)
Devon Hoff-Weekes (USA)
Tim Larkin (USA)
Peter Lopinto (USA)
David O’loughlin (IRL)
Roman Peter (SWI)
Saul Raisin (USA)
Erik Saunders (USA)
Greg Seiniewicz (CAN)
Jackson Stewart (USA)

Victory Brewing-Amoroso’s women’s team announcement

America Velo Sports has announced Victory Brewing as the new title sponsor for the Amoroso’s women’s team. After a 2002 season that proved to be a good start for a young team and organization, Victory Brewing and Amoroso’s Baking Company have come to a mutual agreement to work together and take the women’s team up to the next level and so the Victory Brewing-Amoroso’s Cycling Team is born.

The decision for Victory Brewing to step up as a title sponsor was the obvious choice for Victory, whose market strategy fit perfectly with the team’s regional and national racing schedule. Victory Brewing saw a good amount of success with the team in 2002 by promoting “tastings” at various prominent venues.

Team director Mike Tamayo shares his view on the team. “Our 2003 line up is very impressive. I must say, that I am very excited to be looking at next year with a team of women as motivated and prepared as these ladies. Each and every rider brings a very important component to the team. “

Canadians Sandy Espeseth and Nicole Demars bring leadership and direction to the team. Espeseth has a flurry of results and race experiences including a Canadian national title, Pan American title, and a fourth-place Liberty Classic finish. Demars stood on the podium at Sea Otter, Hewlett Packard, Wendy’s, and Tour of Okinawa.

After an incredible season Leah Goldstein joins the team as the GC rider. In 2002 she placed second at the Canadian national time trial championships, ninth at Hewlett Packard, second place Queen of the Mountain at Tour de Toona/International, and 13th at Tour de l’Aude.

Sealing the deal at the end of races, Gina Grain and Lauren Franges pack a mean punch for the finishes. Grain has proven herself by sprinting to a second place at Tour of Okinawa, and two podium finishes at Tour de Toona/International. After winning the U23 Liberty title two consecutive years in a row, Superweek, and several US national titles, Franges has proven herself as one of the up and comers.

Meanwhile Ann Turrin, Kirsten Robbins, and Sophie St-Jacques fill one of the most important roles in a cycling team, domestiques. St-Jacques comes from team Trek Plus, with an incredible season as a right hand to Laura Van Gilder, while both Turrin and Robbins played crucial roles in the teams success for 2002.

Returning for 2003, Graciela and Veronica Martinez sum it all up in criteriums. Graciela showed her criterium riding skills by placing ninth at Wendy’s International and constantly being part of the decisive moves. Veronica comes back to the U.S. after winning yet another Argentine national title on the track.

A nice amenity to the roster is the potential for growth. With young riders like Franges, , Robbins, St-Jacques, Grain and Veronica Martinez, the team can look ahead to a promising future. This makes for a good mix of experienced riders and riders who have not yet reached their full potential.

Victory Brewing/Amoroso’s plans on contesting both the National Racing Calendar and the Pro Cycling Tour. The overall goal is to pursue dominance in North America. The team also included in the schedule the Montreal World Cup and GP Quebec Femenin. The team has tried to select events that will help prepare for the world championships. “With the world’s in Canada for 2003 it only makes sense that we focus our energy on it. It is hard and very costly to travel back and forth to Europe so expect to see us at all the top North American events,” explains Mike Tamayo.

America Velo Sports is also very excited to announce, the continuing support from Trialtir USA, NorthWave Shoes, Limar Helmets, and Voler Team Apparel. New for 2003 are Maxxis Tires, Saris Roof Racks, and Cyclops Trainers.

2003 roster

Leah Goldstein (Israel)
Sandy Espeseth (Canada)
Nicole Demars (Canada)
Gina Grain (Canada)
Sophie St-Jacques (Canada)
Ann Turrin (Canada)
Kirsten Robbins (Canada)
Lauren Franges (US)
Graciela Martinez (Argentina)
Veronica Martinez (Argentina)