By Ted Arnold, Special to VeloNews

An estimated crowd of 30,000 fans lined the streets of the entertainment district in Austin, Texas, to watch the Navigator’s Cycling Team take control with 10 minutes to go and never look back at the opening event of the BMC Software Cycling Grand Prix, the Lance Armstrong Criterium.

Russian rider Vassili Davidenko was on the receiving end of a near perfect leadout from the Navigators Squad. Mercury-Viatel rider Baden Cooke took second, while Charles Dionne rounded out the podium spots.

Several breaks managed to escape with only the final break attempt gaining significant time. With 20 minutes remaining, eight riders, including a very aggressive Ivan Dominguez (Saturn) and Danny Pate (Prime Alliance), gained 40 seconds only to watch the lead shrink as quickly as it came.

Saturn’s Trent Klasna retained his overall NRC Series lead with his 6th place finish.

Marty Nothstein made his Mercury-Viatel debut with a 20th place showing.

In the women’s race, Ina Teutenberg, Anna Millward, and Sarah Ulmer lapped the field, before Teutenberg won the sprint to gain victory.

Millward (Saturn), ranked No. 3 in the world, was the first to make a move, opening a gap with Ulmer ( of New Zealand. Minutes later Teutenberg (Saturn) bridged up to the breakaway.

From there it took the trio about 20 minutes to lap the field on the four-corner critierium. Teutenberg then took the victory, with Millward second and Ulmer third.


LANCE ARMSTRONG CRITERIUM, April 7, 2001, Austin, Texas

Pro Men’s Results

1. Vassili Davidenko (Navigators)
2. Baden Cooke (Mercury-Viatel)
3. Charles Dionne (7Up/Colorado Cyclist)
4. John Peters (Mercury-Viatel)
5. Jason Waddell (Mathis
6. Trent Klasna (Saturn)
7. Graeme Miller
8. Phil Zajicek (Mercury-Viatel)
9. Oscar Pineda (7Up/Colorado Cyclist)
10. Hilton Clarke (NetZero)

Pro Women’s Results

1. Ina Teutenberg (Saturn)
2. Anna Millward (Saturn)
3. Sarah Ulmer (
4. Joanne Kiesanowski (Proctor & Gamble)
5. Petra Rossner (Saturn)
6. Kristy Scrymgeour (Saturn)
7. Suzanne Sonye (Saturn)
8. Tina Mayolo-Pic (
9. Andrea Hannos (Verizon Wireless)
10. Jenny Eyerman (jane Cosmetics)