1. Home » Races » 2017 Vuelta a España

2017 Vuelta a España

The season’s final grand tour will start in Nimes, France, on August 19 and end in Madrid on September 10. The 3,298-kilometer race includes five mountaintop finishes, including the fearsome Angliru, which comes on the race’s penultimate day.

Race director Javier Guillen told a press conference ahead of the 13th stage of this year’s event in Bilbao that the idea came to him when he attended a bullfight in the southern French city in 2012.

“I liked this city and I made contact with city officials in Nimes, with whom there was an instant rapport because they love Spanish culture. We’ve been working on this project for several years now,” said Guillen, who was accompanied by Tour de France director Christian Prudhomme.

It will be just the third time the race has started outside of Spain — it began in the Portuguese capital of Lisbon in 1997 and in Assen, Netherlands in 2009.

Racing begins with a team time trial on French soil — only the third time the Vuelta has started abroad. Stage 16 will also be a time trial, a mostly flat, 42-kilometer individual test in Navarra. With five flat stages in the first 14 days of the race, sprinters may be encouraged to stick around before stages 15-17, three mountain stages and the TT, which should be central to the battle for the overall.

“The third week will be even more important,” said Movistar manager Eusebio Unzué, who’s top rider Nairo Quintana won the 2016 Vuelta. “First up, there’s the Los Arcos to Logroño ITT, a special day for us as we will be racing home in the Navarra roads. Then, another two mountaintop finishes, and the always demanding Cantabria hills. And at the end, L’Angliru, a final, hellish chance for those who still want to conquer the race. I feel like it’s a Vuelta route even harder than in previous occasions, and I’m sure it’ll be spectacular.”

Four-time Tour de France champion Chris Froome (Sky) will be the outright favorite. Three times second, including last year’s infamous “Froomigal” stage, Froome intends to winning the Vuelta once and for all. On Monday, he confirmed he will race.

“I’ve come second three times now, and I’d love to win the Vuelta,” Froome said Monday. “The Vuelta is a race I love racing. It’s a vicious race, but it’s three weeks that I enjoy.”

Froome, 32, is also targeting cycling’s grand tour double that remains unconquered. A handful riders have won the Vuelta and Tour in the same season, but that was when the Vuelta was held in April. Since it moved to late summer, no one has won the Tour and then the Vuelta.

After seconds in 2011, 2014, and 2016, Froome wants to check the Spanish tour off his bucket list.

“To win the Tour and Vuelta in one year would be absolutely incredible,” he said. “I’ve got the opportunity now, and I’m certainly going to go for it.”

Team Sky tweaked his training schedule this year to have more miles in his legs to take on the Vuelta. He didn’t race as much this spring, in part to be stronger in the final week of the Tour. The Vuelta was very much part of that equation.

It won’t be a cakewalk for Froome, but a few big names are skipping the Vuelta. Tom Dumoulin (Sunweb), and defending champion Nairo Quintana and the injured Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) won’t be racing.

A few Tour riders might also start the Vuelta, including Fabio Aru (Astana) or Romain Bardet (Ag2r La Mondiale).

Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo), who beat back Froome in 2014, is also mulling a Vuelta start.

A number of top riders are expected to race the Vuelta. The 2010 winner Vincenzo Nibali is high on the list. He skipped the Tour after racing to third in the Giro d’Italia.

Other Giro riders expected to line up for Vuelta include Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha), Bob Jungels (Quick-Step), and Steve Kruijswijk (LottoNL-Jumbo).

Rafal Majka (Bora-Hansgrohe), third in the 2015 Vuelta, will also line up for the Vuelta after crashing out of the Tour.

Orica-Scott will go all-in with three GC threats: Esteban Chaves and the Yates twin brothers.

1 08/19/2017 Nîmes to Nîmes 13.8km REPORT / PHOTOS
2 08/20/2017 Nîmes to Gruissan 201km DETAILS
3 08/21/2017 Prades Conflent Canigó to Andorra la Vella 158.5km DETAILS
4 08/22/2017 Escaldes-Engordany to Tarragona 193km DETAILS
5 08/23/2017 Benicàssim to Alcossebre 173.4km DETAILS
6 08/24/2017 Vila-real to Sagunt 198km DETAILS
7 08/25/2017 Llíria to Cuenca 205.2km DETAILS
8 08/26/2017 Hellín to Xorret de Catí 184km DETAILS
9 08/27/2017 Orihuela to Cumbre del Sol 176.3km DETAILS
10 08/29/2017 Caravaca to ElPozo Alimentación 164.8km DETAILS
11 08/30/2017 Lorca to Observatorio Astronómico de Calar Alto 188km DETAILS
12 08/31/2017 Motril to Antequera 161.4km DETAILS
13 09/01/2017 Coín to Tomares 197km DETAILS
14 09/02/2017 Écija to Sierra de La Pandera 175km DETAILS
15 09/03/2017 Alcalá la Real to Sierra Nevada 129.4km DETAILS
16 09/05/2017 Circuito de Navarra to Logroño 40.2km DETAILS
17 09/06/2017 Villadiego to Los Machucos 180km DETAILS
18 09/07/2017 Suances to Santo Toribio de Liébana 168.5km DETAILS
19 09/08/2017 Parque Natural de Redes to Gijón 153km DETAILS
20 09/09/2017 Corvera de Asturias to Alto de l'Angliru 119.2km DETAILS
21 09/10/2017 Arroyomolinos to Madrid 101.9km DETAILS

Results will be published once race is underway.

This is the preliminary start list for the 2017 Vuelta a España. It will be continuously updated as teams are confirmed.


Pello Bilbao
Sergei Chernetckii
Nikita Stalnov
Luis Leon Sanchez
Jesper Hansen
Alexey Lutsenko
Laurens De Vreese
Fabio Aru
Miguel Ángel Lopez


Valerio Agnoli
Manuele Boaro
Ivan Garcia Cortina
Javier Moreno
Antonio Nibali
Vincenzo Nibali
Domen Novak
Franco Pellizotti
Giovanni Visconti


Cesare Benedetti
Emanuel Buchmann
Michael Kolar
Patrick Konrad
Rafal Majka
Christoph Pfingsten
Pawel Poljanski
Andreas Schillinger
Michael Schwarzmann

BMC Racing

Damiano Caruso
Alessandro De Marchi
Rohan Dennis
Kilian Frankiny
Francisco Ventoso
Daniel Oss
Nicolas Roche
Samuel Sanchez
Tejay van Garderen


Guillaume Bonnafond
Luis Ángel Mate
Daniel Navarro
Anthony Perez
Stephane Rossetto
Anthony Turgis
Jimmy Turgis
Kenneth Vanbilsen
Jonas Van Genechten


Ilnur Zakarin
Maxim Belkov
Sven Erik Bystrom
José Goncalves
Marco Haller
Alberto Losada
Matvey Mamykin
Michael Morkov
Rein Taaramae


George Bennett
Antwan Tolhoek
Koen Bouman
Stef Clement
Floris De Tier
Steven Kruijswijk
Bert-Jan Lindeman
Juan José Lobato
Daan Olivier


Jens Debusschere
Maxime Monfort
Rémy Mertz
Jelle Wallays
Bart De Clercq
Sander Armée
Tomasz Marczynski
Thomas De Gendt
Adam Hansen


Jorge Arcas
Carlos Betancur
Richard Carapaz
Rubén Fernández
Dani Moreno
Nelson Oliveira
Antonio Pedrero
José Joaquín Rojas
Marc Soler


Sam Bewley
Esteban Chaves
Magnus Cort
Jack Haig
Chris Juul-Jensen
Svein Tuft
Carlos Verona
Adam Yates
Simon Yates

Team Sky

Chris Froome
Wout Poels
Mikel Nieve
Diego Rosa
David Lopez
Gianni Moscon
Salvatore Puccio
Ian Stannard
Christian Knees

Team Sunweb

Søren Kragh Andersen
Warren Barguil
Johannes Fröhlinger
Chad Haga
Chris Hamilton
Lennard Hofstede
Lennard Kämna
Wilco Kelderman
Sam Oomen


Alberto Contador
Edward Theuns
Jarlinson Pantano
Jesús Hernández
John Degenkolb
Julien Bernard
Koen de Kort
Markel Irizar
Peter Stetina

UAE Team Emirates

Anass Ait el Abida
John Darwin Atapuma
Rui Costa
Louis Meintjes
Sacha Modolo
Matej Mohoric
Przemyslaw Niemiec
Jan Polanc
Federico Zurlo

Caja Rural-Seguros RGA

Héctor Saez
Nick Schultz
Lluís Guillermo Mas
David Arroyo
Sergio Pardilla
Jaime Roson
Rafael Reis
Diego Rubio
Fabricio Ferrari

Check back for full coverage once the race is underway.