1. Home / Giro d'Italia

Giro d'Italia

News, results, commentary, and photos from Italy’s grand tour.

A Tour de France victory does not guarantee success at the Giro d’Italia.

Just ask Louison Bobet.

In the mid 1950s Bobet was the world’s top stage racer, having become the first man to win three consecutive Tours de France in the postwar period (1953, 1954, 1955). For 1957, Bobet set upon a new challenge. He wanted to become the first Frenchman to win the Giro d’Italia, opting to race the Italian tour instead of the Tour de France that year. Bobet had previously struggled at the Giro, finishing 7th in 1951 and abandoning in 1953. This time, however, he had a plan.

Bobet took the lead early in the race, and eventually surrendered the maglia rosa to alleviate the pressure on his team. He planned to win it back during the race’s final week, which featured punishing stages in the Alps.

On the final climbing stage, Bobet dropped race leader, Italian Gastone Nencini, on the steep summit finish to Monte Bondone. The Giro seemed to be in his hands. And then, the tides turned. First, Italian tifosi began to push Nencini up the steep slopes. And then, Luxembourger Charly Gaul dropped back to pace the Italian rider up to Bobet—it was revenge for Bobet attacking Gaul during a nature break several stages before.

Bobet lost the Giro by just 19 seconds, and learned a valuable lesson: Tour de France winners are fair game at the Giro.

Such a lesson could be on display in 2018 as Chris Froome looks to add a Giro d’Italia victory to his growing palmares. Froome is on a mission to rewrite history. A Giro d’Italia win would mark his third-straight grand tour victory. It would also elevate him into the elite class of men to have won all three grand tours: Jacques Anquetil, Felice Gimondi, Eddy Merckx, Bernard Hinault, Alberto Contador, and Vincenzo Nibali.

On paper, Froome enters the race as the outright favorite. His Sky team boasts the largest budget in the WorldTour; some of his domestiques are strong enough to themselves challenge for grand tour glory. And Froome’s four Tour de France and one Vuelta a España victories are proof that he has the legs, lungs, and temperament to win any grand tour.

But this is the Giro—the race of chaos.

One could write thousands of words about the Giro’s long history of bedlam and unforeseen disasters. The Italian peloton attacks with relentless aggression. Pacts are made on the road. And every year the Italian grand tour serves up unpredictable hurdles that can derail even the most seasoned stage racers. While other races have strived for control and calm,

1 05/04/2018 Jerusalem to Jerusalem 9.7km DETAILS
2 05/05/2018 Haifa to Tel Aviv, Israel 167km DETAILS
3 05/06/2018 Be'er Sheva to Eilat, Israel 229km DETAILS
4 05/08/2018 Catania to Caltagirone 191km DETAILS
5 05/09/2018 Agrigento to Santa Ninfa (Valle del Belice) 152km DETAILS
6 05/10/2018 Caltanissetta to Etna 163km DETAILS
7 05/11/2018 Pizzo to Praia a Mare 159km DETAILS
8 05/12/2018 Praia a Mare to Montevergine di Mercogliano 208km DETAILS
9 05/13/2018 Pesco Sannita to Gran Sasso d'Italia (Campo Imperatore) 224km DETAILS
10 05/15/2018 Penne to Gualdo Tadino 239km DETAILS
11 05/16/2018 Assisi to Osimo 156km DETAILS
12 05/17/2018 Osimo to Imola 213km DETAILS
13 05/18/2018 Ferrara to Nervesa della Battaglia 180km DETAILS
14 05/19/2018 San Vito al Tagliamento to Monte Zoncolan 181km DETAILS
15 05/20/2018 Tolmezzo to Sappada 176km DETAILS
16 05/22/2018 Trento to Rovereto (time trial) 34.5km DETAILS
17 05/23/2018 Riva del Garda to Iseo 155km DETAILS
18 05/24/2018 Abbiategrasso to Prato Nevoso 196km DETAILS
19 05/25/2018 Venaria Reale to Bardonecchia 181km DETAILS
20 05/26/2018 Susa to Cervinia 214km DETAILS
21 05/27/2018 Roma to Roma 118km DETAILS

Results will be published once race is underway.

Results will be published once race is underway.

Check back for full coverage once the race is underway.