1. Home » News » Road » Preliminary 2014 Tour of Alberta rosters announced

Preliminary 2014 Tour of Alberta rosters announced

The Tour of Alberta, presented by ATB Financial, announced the preliminary rosters for the second edition of the race, scheduled for September 2-7.

The field of 120 cyclists will be highlighted by Tour de France heroes, big race winners, and top Canadian talent.

Belkin’s Bauke Mollema, who finished 10th at the Tour de France this year will ride alongside teammate Steven Kruijswijk, who was 15th at the Tour.

Garmin-Sharp will bring Tour stage winner Ramunas Navardauskas, two-time Tour of Utah winner Tom Danielson, and Tom-Jelte Slagter, a two-time Paris-Nice stage winner.

“Our Garmin-Sharp team is loaded with talent, and we’re looking forward to defending our title from last year,” said Danielson. “The Tour of Alberta fits a couple of our guys real nice, like Ramunas [Navardauskas] and [Tom-Jelte] Slaghter. I look forward to supporting those guys. Both are super talented. I’ve heard great things about Alberta, the race, and the fans up there, so, I’m pretty pumped.”

Dutchman Tom Dumoulin (Giant-Shimano) will also be in the Alberta peloton. He placed fifth overall in the 2014 Tour of Switzerland and second overall at 2014 Tour of Belgium. He also won a stage at this year’s Eneco Tour.

Cannondale’s Italian sprinter, Ella Viviani, will also come to Canada. He won a stage in this year’s Tour of Turkey and Tour of Slovenia.

Canada will be represented well with a composite national team, Garneau-Quebecor, and Silber Pro Cycling, led by 2012 Canadian national champion Ryan Roth.

Some of the top Canadian talent, however, resides on a few American-based teams. Optum will bring Ryan Anderson, a Calgarian who was Canada’s top-placed rider in the 2013 Tour of Alberta and teammate Will Routley, the king of the mountains jersey winner at this year’s Tour of California. Team SmartStop will bring Rob Britton, who was second overall at Tour de Beauce. Team 5-Hour Energy’s Bruno Langlois will race in Alberta, and Jelly Belly’s Nic Hamilton is also scheduled to race. More than 25 Canadians will take the starting line for the race.

“The one thing this race has already proved is that Canada has a growing [abundance] of world-class talent,” said Tour of Alberta chairman Brian Jolly. “It will definitely be on display against the world’s best at this year’s event.”

The 2014 race will cover 700 kilometers over the course of five stages and a prologue, from Calgary to Edmonton.

Preliminary team rosters


1. Jonathan Hivert (FRA)
2. Steven Kruijswijk (NED)
3. Thomas Leezer (NED)
4. Martijn Keizer (NED)
5. Nick Van Der Lijke (NED)
6. Bauke Mollema (NED)
7. David Tanner (AUS)
8. Martijn Tusveld (NED)


11. Caleb Fairly (USA)
12. Ramunas Navardauskas (LTU)
13. Tom Danielson (USA)
14. Phillip Gaimon (USA)
15. Tom-Jelte Slagter (NED)
16. Fabian Wegmann (GER)
17. Gavin Mannion (USA)
18. Steele Von Hoff (AUS)


21. Matthew Goss (AUS)
22. Ivan Santaromita (ITL)
23. Matthew Hayman (AUS)
24. Leigh Howard (AUS)
25. Aidis Kruopis (LIT)
26. Christian Meier (CAN)
27. Pieter Weening (NED)
28. Simon Yates (GBR)


31. Alberto Bettiol (ITA)
32. Davide Formolo (ITA)
33. Edward King (USA)
34. Davide Villella (ITA)
35. Matej Mohoric (SLO)
36. Cristiano Salerno (ITA)
37. Ella Viviani (ITA)


41. Jonas Ahlstrand (SWE)
42. Dries Devenyns (BEL)
43. Tom Dumoulin (NED)
44. Simon Geschke (GER)
45. Thierry Hupond (FRA)
46. Daan Olivier (NED)
47. Tom Peterson (USA)
48. Georg Preidler (AUT)


51. Alessandro Bazzana (ITA)
52. Jonny Clarke (AUS)
53. Marc De Maar (NED)
54. Robert Forster (GER)
55. Davide Frattini (ITA)
56. Chris Jones (USA)
57. Kiel Reijnen (USA)
58. Daniel Summerhill (USA)

Optum-Kelly Benefit Strategies

61. Alexander Candelario (USA)
62. Ryan Anderson (CAN)
63. Scott Zwizanski (USA)
64. Thomas Soladay (USA)
65. Eric Young (USA)
66. Tom Zirbel (USA)
67. Charles Bradley Huff (USA)
68. Will Routley (CAN)

Jelly Belly

71. Fred Rodriguez (USA)
72. Ian Burnett (USA)
73. Steve Fisher (USA)
74. Kirk Carlsen (USA)
75. Jacob Rathe (USA)
76. Nic Hamilton (CAN)
77. Serghei Tvetcov (ROU)
78. Sean Mazich (USA)

5-Hour Energy

81. Chad Beyer (USA)
82. James Stemper (USA)
83. Bruno Langlois (CAN)
84. David Williams (USA)
85. Robert Sweeting (USA)
86. Sam Basseitti (USA)
87. Taylor Sheldon (USA)
88. Michael Woods (CAN)


91. Aurélien Passeron (FRA)
92. Derrick St John (CAN)
93. Elliot Doyle (CAN)
94. Michel Lachance (CAN)
95. Matteo Dal-Cin (CAN)
96. Robert Ralph (CAN)
97. Ryan Roth (CAN)
98. William Goodfellow (CAN)

Hincapie Sportswear Development

101. Oscar Clark (USA)
102. Joseph Rosskopf (USA)
103. Robin Carpenter (USA)
104. Toms Skujins (LAT)
105. Alder Martz (USA)
106. Joseph Lewis (AUS)
107. Tyler Magner (USA)
108. Joseph Schmalz (USA)

Team SmartStop

111. Shane Kline (USA)
112. Jure Kocjan (SLO)
113. Eric Marcotte (USA)
114. Travis McCabe (USA)
115. Zach Bell (CAN)
116. Kris Dahl (CAN)
117. Travis Livermon (USA)
118. Rob Britton (CAN)

Bissell Development Team

121. Tanner Putt (USA)
122. Nicolai Brochner (DEN)
123. Nathan Van Hooydonck (BEL)
124. Ruben Zepuntke (GER)
125. James Oram (NZL)
126. Logan Owen (USA)
127. Gregory Daniel (USA)
128. Daniel Eaton (USA)

Canadian National Team

131. Hugo Houle (CAN)
132. Garrett Mccleod (CAN)
133. Benjamin Perry (CAN)
134. Stuart Wight (CAN)
135. Adam De Vos (CAN)
136. Jean-Sebastian Perron (CAN)
137. Jordan Cheyne (CAN)
138. Cody Canning (CAN)

Related Articles