1. Home » MTB » Wells, Mata take home marathon stars and stripes

Wells, Mata take home marathon stars and stripes

Todd Wells (Specialized Racing) and Pua Mata (Sho-Air) won the 2012 USA Cycling mountain bike marathon national championships held Saturday in Bend, Oregon.

Wells, a three-time Olympian, beat Carl Decker (Giant Factory) and the defending national champion, Adam Craig (Rabobank-Giant), to take the stars-and-stripes jersey.

Decker finished the 54-mile course 35 seconds back on the winner, who finished in 3:36:52.

Mata defended her national champion’s jersey, finishing in 4:09:35. Kelli Emmett (Giant Mountain Bike Team) took second, 9:13 back. Sarah “Sari” Anderson (Honey Stinger-Trek) completed the three-woman podium.

Cary Smith (Team Cf) won the singlespeed race in 4:03:44 ahead of Cody Peterson. Jamie Busch won the women’s singlespeed race by nearly 23 minutes.

Related Articles