1. Home » MTB » Harmony, Gwin become the 2012 pro downhill national champions

Harmony, Gwin become the 2012 pro downhill national champions

Aaron Gwin (Trek World Racing) added to his list of season wins when he took the pro men’s downhill stars and stripes jersey in the pro men’s mountain bike gravity national championships and Jacqueline Harmony took one as well as the women’s national champion.

“It was always a big goal of mine and it definitely always feels good,” Gwin said after the race at Beech Mountain, N.C..

Gwin took the win in 2:10 ahead of fellow Trek World Racing teammate Neko Mulally who came in 2:13. Eliot Jackson took the bronze and Logan Binggeli (KHS Factory Racing) and Kevin Littlefield rounded out the men’s podium.

Harmony won the women’s pro race by a nine-second margin in 2:36 over Melissa Buhl.

“The whole weekend has just been awesome,” said the Sedona resident. “I’ve been training for this for many years. Finally, everything clicked and everything was working,” an ecstatic Harmony commented. “Awesome competition. All those girls, I’m so glad that all of them came out. I’m glad they were all able to come ride this course because it was super fun – super good.”

The bronze went to Jaime Rees of The Bike Hub. Lauren Daney and Katie Holden took the fourth and fifth slots.

Race results >>

Related Articles