1. Home » News » Cyclocross » Francis Mourey, Lucie Chainel-Lefevre win 2011 Nommay Cyclocross

Francis Mourey, Lucie Chainel-Lefevre win 2011 Nommay Cyclocross

Francis Mourey (FdJ) and Lucie Chainel-Lefevre (CC Etupes) won the 34th Nommay Cyclocross on Friday in France.

The racing started off under very cool and overcast skies with a stiff wind. The dry course featured a good bit of up and down, but only one dismount, with a set of stairs just after the starting straight.

The women’s race featured mountain bike world champion Pauline Ferrand Prevot (AC Bazancour), former world champion Hanka Kupfernagel, Swiss champion Jasmin Acherman (VC Rain-Focus), Gabby Day (Renner Custom CX Team), Amy Dombroski (Crank Brothers) and Chainel-Lefevre.

Day took the hole shot, leading the group up the stairs following the starting straight. Just after the descent off the run-up the group went into a sand section that caused a pileup, which took down both Prevot and Achermann.

The leaders quickly worked to establish a gap with Chainel-Lefevre and Hanka Kupfernagel (Itera) holding a 10-meter gap over Day, who in turn led Dombroski by five seconds. Day reached Kupfernagel just after Chainel-Lefevre attacked and established a 10-second lead over the two.

Day and Kupfernagel worked well together and established a solid lead over Dombroski and a fast-chasing Prevot, but could not take back any time from Chainel-Lefevre.

On the final lap Kupfernagel attacked and gapped Day, finishing five seconds ahead of Day but 37 seconds off race winner Chainel-Lefevre. Prevot caught Dombroski and the two finished fourth and fifth, respectively. Achermann came back from her crash to finish sixth.

In the men’s race tactics played a huge role. After just half a lap two large groups, the first containing 12 riders, and the second 10, were just five seconds apart. The lead group contained race favorites Francis Mourey and Steve Chainel (FDJ); Enrico Franzoi, (Guerciotti); Julien Absalon (UC Remiremont); Nicolas Bazin (Big Mat); and Sascha Weber (Differdange).

Two laps into the race Mourey attacked, establishing a 15-second gap that he expanded for the remaining nine laps. He was a level above the competition and finished 1:54 ahead of Chainel, who led out and won a small group sprint. Franzoi crossed third.

Quick results

  • 1. Francis Mourey (Fra), 59:31
  • 2. Steve Chainel (Fra), 1:01:25
  • 3. Enrico Franzoi (Ita), 1:01:27
  • 4. Marcel Wildhaber (Sui), 1:01:30
  • 5. Sascha Weber (Ger), 1:01:30


  • 1. Lucie Chainel-Lefevre (Fra), 41:07
  • 2. Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger), 41:44
  • 3. Gabriella Day (Gbr), 41:49
  • 4. Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra), 42:23
  • 5. Amy Dombroski (USA), 43:26

Complete results

Related Articles