1. Home » News » Road » Americans Timmy Duggan, Ted King stick with Liquigas-Cannondale for 2012

Americans Timmy Duggan, Ted King stick with Liquigas-Cannondale for 2012

Liquigas teammates Ted King and Timmy Duggan share a laugh at the team introductions at the 2011 Grand Prix Cycliste de Quebec. Photo: Casey B. Gibson | www.cbgphoto.com

Americans Timmy Duggan and Ted King will be back in the Liquigas-Cannondale jersey for 2012 as the Italian squad closed out its roster with 29 riders for next season.

King got a two-year deal while Duggan was a late-hour re-up to stay with the WorldTour team. Both will continue their roles as workers for the team’s big captains, such as Ivan Basso and Vincenzo Nibali.

“The first goal we set for ourselves in thinking about 2012 was to confirm, as far as possible, the already competitive team from last year,” said team manager Roberto Amadio in a team release Tuesday. “We’ve succeeded in our aim and we’ve targeted a few young riders, so we can look to next season with great ambition.”

There are no big-name additions for 2012, with only six new faces for the coming season. Federico Canuti and Daniele Ratto join Italian neo-pros Stefano Agostini and Moreno Moser (nephew of Francesco Moser) along with Colombians José Sarmiento and Carlos Alberto Betancur.

The team will be built around the grand-tour pillars of Nibali and Basso. Nibali is expected to focus on the Tour de France next season, while Basso will take aim at another Giro d’Italia title.

Peter Sagan will get additional liberties, with a likely start in the Tour next year, while emerging sprinter Elia Viviani will also see more team support.

The squad has two training camps in the coming weeks, with the first at Passo San Pellegrino and a second at Sardinia.

Liquigas-Cannondale for 2012:

• Returning riders: Ivan Basso, Vincenzo Nibali, Elia Viviani, Daniel Oss, Eros Capecchi, Valerio Agnoli, Damiano Caruso, Mauro Da Dalto, Tiziano Dall’Antonia, Paolo Longo Borghini, Alan Marangoni, Fabio Sabatini, Cristiano Salerno and Alessandro Vanotti (all Italians); Poles Maciej Bodnar, Maciej Paterski and Sylwester Szmyd, Americans Timmy Duggan and Ted King, Kristijan Koren Slovenian, German Dominik Nerz, Slovaks Peter Sagan, Juraj Sagan

• New riders: Federico Canuti, Daniele Ratto, Stefano Agostini, Moreno Moser (Italians);Colombians José Sarmiento and Carlos Alberto Betancur

• Out: Cameron Wurf; Francesco Bellotti, Davide Cimolai (to Lampre); Mauro Finetto (to Colnago-CSF Inox), Jacopo Guarnieri and Simone Ponzi (both to Astana)

Related Articles