1. Home » News » Road » Edvald Boasson Hagen wins 2011 Vattenfall Cyclassics

Edvald Boasson Hagen wins 2011 Vattenfall Cyclassics

Edvald Boasson Hagen (Team Sky) won the Vattenfall Cyclassics on Sunday to follow up his win in the Eneco Tour last weekend.

The 24-year-old Norwegian, who also claimed two stage wins during last month’s Tour de France, won by a matter of centimeters from Gerald Ciolek (Quick Step). Borut Bozic (Vacansoleil-DCM) crossed third.

A four-man breakaway containing Russian road champion Pavel Brutt (Katusha) Lars Bak (HTC-Highroad), Jan Barta (Team NetApp) and Thomas de Gendt (Vacansoleil) animated the race early on, but the quartet never made much headway and was caught 25km from the finish.

When the peloton split on the Waseberg climb in the final kilometers, Sky put the bulk of its men into the leading group of some three-dozen riders. The Norwegian hit the front with 250 meters remaining and held it to the line.

Sport director Servais Knaven was delighted with his team’s performance.

“It was perfect again. This group have been riding together in many races this season — they know each other so well now and they do everything for each other,” he said on the team’s website.

“You need good riders, which we’ve got, and if they all work together as well as that then you get performances like this. They are riding strong, they keep on winning and it’s great to see. It was another brilliant day.”

Ciolek, meanwhile, was understandably disappointed at having just missed out on the victory.

“That was my best performance of the season so far, but when you are so close to victory, you want to win,” said the 2006 under-23 road race world champion.

Quick results

  • 1. Edvald Boasson Hagen, (NOR), Team Sky, 4:40:40
  • 2. Gerald Ciolek (GER), Quick Step, same time
  • 3. Borut Bozic (SLO), Vacansoleil-DCM ,s.t.
  • 4. Simone Ponzi (ITA), Liquigas-Cannondale, s.t.
  • 5. Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil, (ESP), Movistar, s.t.

Complete results

Related Articles