1. Home » MTB » Cross-Country Nats: JHK Ends Weekend with Win

Cross-Country Nats: JHK Ends Weekend with Win

July 16 Round-up

2011 USA Cycling Mountain Bike Cross-Country National Championships: July 16 Brief Results


Hometown rider Rebecca Rusch (Ketchum, Idaho/Specialized), competing for the first time in a singlespeed race, won by over nine minutes, traversing the 22.25-kilometer course in 1:31:43.

In the men’s single-speed race, Cary Smith (Jackson, Wyo.) earned the gold medal with a time of 1:21:36, slightly more than two minutes faster than silver medalist Cameron Brenneman (Santa Fe, N.M.).


Brennan Wodtli (Bend, Ore.) completed the men’s 19-24 course in 1:18:11 to win the Stars-and-Stripes jersey.

Brendan Shafer (Durango, Colo./Durango Devo) was nearly one minute faster than Miguel Ramos (Durango, Colo.) to win the men’s 25-29 contest.

Ty Kady (Brea, Calif.) traveled 22.25 kilometers in 1:19:21 to win the men’s 30-34 by only 38 seconds over Marco Arocha (Newbury, Calif./Team Velosport Club).

In the men’s 35-39 race, Kyle Dixon (Reno, Nev.) was three minutes faster than Scott Leland (Reno, Nev.).

Dario Fredrick (San Anselmo, Calif./Whole Athlete-Specialized) was just 17 seconds faster than Mark Legg Compton (Colorado Springs, Colo.) to win the men’s 40-44 race.

Donald Myrah (San Jose, Calif.) was two minutes faster than the runner-up Michael Hogan (Louisville, Colo./Justin’s-Titus Mountain Bike) in the men’s 45-49 race.

Russell Kappius (Littleton, Colo.) won the men’s 50-54 contest by almost three minutes, posting a time of 1:26:00.

Gary Thacker (Boulder, Colo./Justin’s-Titus Mountain Bikes) traversed 22.25 kilometers in 1:31:48, almost two minutes faster than Dean Swank (Crestline, Calif.), who finished second, in the men’s 55-59 contest.

Don Leet (Bend, Ore./Ben Endurace Academy) posted the best time among the men’s 60-64 racers at 49:54, 90 seconds faster than silver medalist Glen Norton (Renton, Wash.).

James Wagner (Auburn, Wash./Cycle Therapy-4 Corners Cycling) topped the men’s 65-69 podium.

In the men’s 70+ race, 69-year-old Andy Andrews (Hailey, Idaho) completed the 12.5-kilometer course four seconds faster than 71-year-old Hans Muehlegger (Sun Valley, Idaho).


Katie Sodergren (Brekenridge, Colo.) traveled the 22.25 kilometers in an impressive 1:39:55, almost 11 minutes better than the runner-up Lindsy Campbell (Missoula, Mont./Northern Rockies Cycling Team) to win the women’s 19-24 competition.

In the women’s 25-29 race, Rose Grant (Kalispell, Mont./Sportsman & Ski Haus) took the top spot of the podium with a time of 1:35:17, nearly seven minutes better than the silver medalist Jena Greaser (Newton, Mass./Noreast Cycling).

Jamie Busch (Los Gatos, Calif.) earned the gold medal after winning the women’s 30-34 race by nearly six minutes over Serena Bishop (Bend, Ore.).

Another hometown cyclist won in front of her fans as Brooke Hovey (Ketchum, Idaho/Mud Honey Cycling) traveled 22.25 kilometers in 1:34:22 to win the Stars-and-Stripes jersey in the women’s 35-39.

Helene Drumm (San Anselmo, Calif.) won the women’s 40-44 contest by just over 90 seconds over Christine Irelan (Colorado Springs, Colo.).

Julia Violich (San Anselmo, Calif./Peanut Butter & Co TWENTY 12) topped the women’s 45-49 podium after completing the 22.25-kilometer challenge in 1:35:21.

Anne Gonzales (Aspen, Colo.) emerged victorious in the women’s 50-54 race, finishing in 1:38:34, 12 minutes faster than the next finisher in her age group.

Lesley Jensen (Benicia, Calif./One Team Racing) was the first woman to complete the course among the riders, winning the women’s category 1 55-59 with a time of 57:58.

Former road age-group world champion, 62-year-old Martha Iverson (Durango, Colo./Durango Wheel Club) won the women’s 60+ race, completing the 12.5-kilometer course in 1:12:47.

Related Articles