1. Home » News » Road » Vos wins GP Ciudad de Valladolid to take World Cup lead

Vos wins GP Ciudad de Valladolid to take World Cup lead

After her win in the GP Ciudad de Valladolid Sunday, Marianne Vos (Nederland Bloeit) overtook the World Cup lead from her teammate, Annemieke van Vleuten.

The technical course allowed for little recovery after a challenging uphill which was followed by technical and steep descents. The race, consisting of five laps of the 6.6 kilometer test, would be sure to create a main selection in the field for the finish.

As the race rolled around Valladolid, there was not much action aside from the field splitting into two groups. The lead group consisted of about 20 riders and saw initial attacks by Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (HTC-Highroad), but it was quickly shut down by Fabiana Luperini (MCipollini) and Shara Gillow (Australia). Vos also made an attack to get away, but soon after found herself in trouble. Van Vleuten dropped her chain on a climb and both Vos and van Vleuten fell back to the chase group.

With about 12 kilometers until the finish, Vos was determined to bridge back to the lead group with her teammate. She was able to regain lost time, but dropped van Vleuten in the process. Now with Vos in the lead group for the last lap, Lizzie Armitstead (Garmin-Cervelo) attempted to pull away from the group and seven riders stayed with her. As the eight turned into the finishing straight, Vos attacked with Emma Johansson (Hitec Products) chasing. Vos had a large enough gap after the 500 meters for celebration and Johansson was beat by Rossella Callovi (MCipollini) to take second. Johansson finished third.

Quick Results

GP Ciudad de Valladolid

  • 1. Marianne Vos (Ned), Nederland Bloeit, 3:16:17
  • 2. Rossella Callovi (Ita), SC MCipollini Giordana, s.t.
  • 3. Emma Johansson (Swe), Team Hitec Products Uck, s.t.
  • 4. Judith Arndt (Ger), HTC-Highroad, s.t.
  • 5. Noemi Cantele (Ita), Garmin-Cervélo, s.t.

Complete Results

World Cup Rankings

  • 1. Marianne VOS, (Netherlands), Nederland Bloeit, with 260 points
  • 2. Annemiek VAN VLEUTEN, (Netherlands), Nederland Bloeit, with 196 points
  • 3. Emma JOHANSSON, (Sweden) Team Hitec Products Uck, with 187 points
  • 4. Ina TEUTENBERG, (Germany) HTC-Highroad, with 113 points
  • 5. Judith ARNDT, (Germany) HTC-Highroad, with 113 points

Complete Rankings

Related Articles