1. Home » MTB » NUE Series » Round 2 of Endurance Series Set for Mohican MTB100

Round 2 of Endurance Series Set for Mohican MTB100

By Singletrack.com

The Mohican MTB100 in Ohio is expected to attract some 600 racers. Courtesy photo
The Mohican MTB100 in Ohio is expected to attract some 600 racers. Courtesy photo

Between 500 and 600 racers are expected this weekend at the Mohican MTB100, the second stop of the Kenda National Ultra Endurance Series.

As part of the best-four-of-eight race NUE series, the Mohican MTB100 means Ohio is no longer considered “fly over country” for today’s elite mountain bike professionals, said Ryan O’Dell, race director

“Including Mohican on the national circuit on par with other great mountain bike venues in Colorado and Virginia is a real positive for the Loudonville, Ohio community,” O’Dell said.

April 24: Cohutta 100 Tennessee (Winners: Jeff Schalk and Amanda Carey)
June 5: Mohican 100 Ohio
June 19: Lumberjack 100 Michigan
July 17: Breckenridge 100 Colorado
July 31: Wilderness 101 Pennsylvania
Aug. 7 : High Cascades 100 Oregon
Aug. 21: Fool’s Gold 100 Georgia
Sept. 5: Shenandoah 100 Virginia

The Mohican MTB100 consists of two races at the same time. A full loop 100 mile mountain bike race with over 11,000 feet of vertical and a 62-mile mountain bike race spanning four counties, including much of the mountain bike trail in the Mohican State Park and Mohican Memorial State Forest.

Racers will be competing for $4,000 in cash, $500 top prize, along with other prizes

The NUE Series has just four classifications: Men’s Open, Women’s Open, Single Speed, and 50+. The series kicked off at the Cohutta 100 in Tennessee in April and in additon to Ohio includes stops in Michigan, Colorado, Pennsylvania, Georgia, Oregon, and Virginia.

At Cohutta, it was two-time defending NUE champion Jeff Schalk (Trek) who came across the line with a winning time of just 6:49:25. Looking to beat Schalk at the Mohican will be Josh Tostada (Bachbuilders/Santa Cruz), the winner of the Breckenridge 100 for the last five years. The Breck Epic is the fourth stop of the NUE Series this year.

In the Women’s Division at Cohutta, it was Kenda-Felt’s Amanda Carey putting 20 minutes ahead of second place, and 2008 NUE Women’s Champion, Cheryl Sornson (Team CF.org).

In the Singlespeed Division, the winner was 2006 NUE Men’s Open champion Harlan Price at 7:16:33, which earned him fifth place overall. 2009 reigning singlespeed champion Gerry Pflug (Salsa/SPK/Pao bikes) took second, 17 minutes behind Price.

For more info visit www.mohican.net.

Related Articles