1. Home » News » Road » Jensen, Rivera win final Tulsa Tough crits, Huff and Purcell win omniums

Jensen, Rivera win final Tulsa Tough crits, Huff and Purcell win omniums

By Caley Fretz

Brian Jensen (Tradewind Energy/Trek) took a solo victory at Sunday’s Riverview Crit, the third and final day of the St. Francis Tulsa Tough Omnium in Oklahoma.

Jensen stormed away from three breakaway companions up Crybaby Hill with just a few laps remaining and never looked back, cruising across the line with a comfortable lead.

Behind, the remainder of the break duked it out for the remaining podium positions. Adam Bergman (Texas Roadhouse) and Zach Davies (Groove Subaru) crossed the line for second and third.

In the women’s race, an elite group of six separated from a decimated field with 12 laps remaining. The break included most of the field’s heavy hitters; Omnium leader Jennifer Purcell (MSU Cycling), Coryn Rivera (Peanut Butter & Co.-Twenty12), Christina Gokey-Smith (Veloforma) and Laura Van Gilder (Mellow Mushroom) all made the split. Friday’s winner Amanda Miller (TIBCO-To The Top) bridged across a few laps later to make the group seven.

With so much horsepower up front, the break quickly spread its lead out to fifteen seconds, and held that gap to the finish. In the finale, Rivera took a tight sprint ahead of Miller and Gokey-Smith.

Purcell’s presence in the winning move solidified her lead in the women’s omnium, ahead of Rivera and Gokey-Smith.

Jelly Belly/Kenda took the top two men’s omnium spots with Friday and Saturday’s winner Brad Huff taking the top spot ahead of teammate Sean Mazich. Jeremiah Wiscovitch (Williams Cycling/SC Velo) rounded out the podium in third.

Quick results:
Men’s stage:

  • 1. Brian Jensen (Tradewind Energy/Trek)
  • 2. Adam Bergman (Texas Roadhouse)
  • 3. Zach Davies (Groove Subaru)

Men’s FINAL Omnium

  • 1. Brad Huff (Jelly Belly-Kenda)
  • 2. Sean Mazich (Jelly Belly-Kenda)
  • 3. Jeremiah Wiscovitch (Williams Cycling/SC Velo)

Women’s stage

  • 1. Coryn Rivera (Peanut Butter & Co./2012)
  • 2. Amanda Miller (TIBCO)
  • 3. Christina Gokey-Smith (Veloforma)

Women’s omnium

  • 1. Jennifer Purcell (MSU Cycling)
  • 2. Coryn Rivera (Peanut Butter & Co.-Twenty12)
  • 3. Christina Gokey-Smith (Veloforma)

Related Articles