1. Home » News » Road » Cancellara wins Swiss opener

Cancellara wins Swiss opener

Defending champion Fabian Cancellara (Saxo Bank) won the opening stage of the Tour du Suisse on Saturday.

Cancellara, resplendent in the rainbow kit of the world time trial champion, took the short, fast 7.6km individual time trial in Lugano in 10:21, one second ahead of Roman Kreuziger (Liquigas-Doimo) and three up on Tony Martin (HTC-Columbia).

Cancellara, a triple world champion in 2006, 2007 and 2009 and reigning Olympic time-trial champion, won the prologue last year and went on to claim the overall race victory.

He produced a stunning second half to his time trial as he turned a six-second deficit into a one-second lead.

“I think I did everything right,” he said. “The margin is not important. What is important is to wear the leader’s jersey.”

American Lance Armstrong (Team RadioShack) finished 44th, 29 seconds back.

Earlier this month, Cancellara had to deny a flury of rather odd suggestions that he had used a motorized bicycle to win the Tour of Flanders and Paris-Roubaix classics.

The Swiss champion produced a stunning second half to his time trial as he turned a six second deficit into a one second lead.

Armstrong, racing in his last race prior to what is widely believed to be his final Tour de France, did not take any chances on the wet roads.

The 38-year-old was already 12 seconds off the pace midway through and slipped even further back in the second half, finishing in 44th position.

A spokesman for his RadioShack team said Armstrong “did not want to take any risks on the downhill but overall he felt good.”

Armstrong was in a mood to joke on Twitter when he referred to the recent inquiry into Cancellara’s bike.

“(Cancellara has) two motors on his bike, the one in his left leg and the one in his right leg.”

The second stage (167km) takes the peleton from Ascona to Sierra.

Quick results

  • 1. Fabian Cancellara, Team Saxo Bank, 10:21.060
  • 2. Roman Kreuziger, Liquigas-Doimo, at 0:01
  • 3. Tony Martin, Team HTC-Columbia, at 0:03
  • 4. Peter Sagan, Liquigas-Doimo, same time
  • 5. Dries Devenyns,  Quick Step, at 0:10
  • 6. Gustav Erik Larsson, Team Saxo Bank, at 0:11
  • 7. Thomas Lövkvist, Team Sky, at 0:12
  • 8. Manuel Quinziato, Liquigas-Doimo, at 0:13
  • 9. Simon Gerrans, Team Sky, s.t.
  • 10. Jacob Fuglsang, Team Saxo Bank, s.t.

Complete results

Related Articles