1. Home » MTB » NUE Series » Schalk Wins NUE Series Kick-Off

Schalk Wins NUE Series Kick-Off


April 24: Cohutta 100 Tennessee
June 5: Mohican 100 Ohio
June 19: Lumberjack 100 Michigan
July 17: Breckenridge 100 Colorado
July 31: Wilderness 101 Pennsylvania
Aug. 7 : High Cascades 100 Oregon
Aug. 21: Fool’s Gold 100 Georgia
Sept. 5: Shenandoah 100 Virginia

Temps dropped and heavy rains pounded a record number of racers just 40 miles into the sold out National Ultra Endurance Series opener at the Cohutta 100 in Ducktown, Tennessee Saturday.

In the Mens Open division, two-time defending NUE champion Jeff Schalk (Trek) repeated at Cohutta with a winning time of just 6:49:25, 26 minutes back from his blistering 6:23 finish in dry conditions last year.

Chris Peariso (Adventure212/Specialized), Michael Simonson, (Gary Fisher/Sram/Notubes), and Chris Tanguy (TeamCF.org) finished just minutes apart and 10 minutes behind Schalk.

In the Women’s Division, it was Kenda-Felt’s Amanda Carey putting 20 minutes ahead of second place, and 2008 NUE Women’s Champion, Cheryl Sornson (Team CF.org).

In the Singlespeed Division, 2006 NUE Mens Open champion Harlan Price proved he’s still got what it takes. His finish time of 7:16:33 earned him fifth place overall. 2009 reigning singlespeed champion Gerry Pflug (Salsa/SPK/Pao bikes) took second, 17 minutes behind Price.

In the Masters’ 50+ Division, Robert Herriman (Gary Fisher 29er Crew/WSC/ACFstores.com) is in the hunt for the first time. At 8:03:56, it was a commanding win, 46 minutes ahead of second place finisher Jack Kline

From Tennessee, the NUE Series heads to the Buckeye State for round two in Loudonville, Ohio at the Kenda Mohican MTB100 on June 5.

Related Articles