1. Home » News » Road » Women’s Prestige series announces 2010 events

Women’s Prestige series announces 2010 events

This year’s Women’s Prestige Cycling Series includes four stage races in four states, including a new addition, the SRAM Tour of the Gila. The series awards points at existing events to determine season-long winners in four categories.

The four events this year are:

March 25-28 – Redlands Bicycle Classic (California)

April 28-May 2 – SRAM Tour of the Gila (New Mexico)

June 16-20 – Nature Valley Grand Prix (Minnesota)

July 20-25 – Bend Memorial Clinic Cascade Cycling Classic (Oregon)

The Nature Valley Grand Prix has been a part of every Women’s Prestige Cycling Series. The Redlands Classic is in the line-up for the sixth time in seven years, while this is the second year for the Bend Memorial Clinic Cascade Cycling Classic. New to the calendar is the SRAM Tour of the Gila, which replaces the Joe Martin Stage Race.

The series awards titles for the top overall individual, best young rider, best sprinter and top team. Special jerseys, provided by custom clothing manufacturer Champion System, will identify the leaders in the first three classifications.

Last year’s champions were Alison Powers of Team Type 1 (top individual), Tina Pic of Colavita-Sutter Home (best sprinter), Rebecca Much of the Webcor Builders Cycling Team (best young rider) and Team TIBCO, which was the top team.

For more information about the Women’s Prestige Cycling Series, visit the official Web site, www.WomenCyclists.com.

Related Articles