1. Home » News » Cyclocross » USAC names womens, U23 and Junior world cyclocross teams

USAC names womens, U23 and Junior world cyclocross teams

Cody Kaiser (California Giant) won the Junior Men 17-18 national championship and a trip to Tabor.

USA Cycling has named the elite women, U23 men and Junior men who will represent the U.S. at the UCI cyclocross world Championships in Tabor, Czech Republic next month.

The organization will announce the men’s elite team on January 13.

UCI points leader and six-time national champion Katie Compton (Planet Bike) was an automatic selection for the team, and is a favorite for the gold medal.

Amy Dombroski (Schalmm p/b Primus) is another automatic qualifier for the team. Dombroski garnered the most points in five out of the six U.S. qualification races, finished third at the national championships, fifth in the USAC cyclocross national calendar rankings and second in the U.S. Gran Prix of Cyclocross.

Discretionary nominations to the elite women’s team went to national championship silver medalist Meredith Miller (California Giant-Specialized), Laura Van Gilder (C3-Sollay) and Maureen Bruno Roy (MM Racing p/b Seven Cycles).

In the U23 men’s division, 2007 junior world championship silver-medalist Danny Summerhill (Garmin-Felt) earned the only automatic nomination to the team with his victory at the national championships.

Discretionary selections to the men’s U23 team went to Luke Keough (Champion Systems), Zach McDonald (Stevens Classic Cycle), Jerome Townsend (Bikereg.com-Joe’s Garage) and Dave Hackworthy (Plan C).

New junior national champion Cody Kaiser (Cal Giant) was the only automatic qualifier in the junior division. Jeff Bahnson (Thule-Vandessel), Skyler Trujillo (Black Sheep), Chris Wallace (KCCX-Verge) and Matt Spinks (Young Medalists-Team Dual Temp) all earned discretionary nominations.

[album id=4 template=compact]

Related Articles