1. Home » News » Road » Contador sets first camp with Astana

Contador sets first camp with Astana

Contador may find out how much help hell get next July.
Contador may find out how much help he'll get next July.

Alberto Contador will get to know his “new” team next week in the season’s first get-together for the refitted Astana squad.

The two-time Tour de France champion will meet with new Astana staff and riders in Italy on December 9-16 in Pisa, Italy in the first formal face-to-face meeting since Contador decided to stay with Astana in 2010.

Contador was hoping to break out of the final year of this three-year contract with the troubled Astana team, but the Kazakhs held him to his contract. The UCI gave Astana the green light on its ProTour license, assuring that Contador would have to stay at Astana next year.

With team manager Johan Bruyneel taking Lance Armstrong and a dozen other top riders from Astana to the new RadioShack squad, Contador will be keen to see who’s left to be able to help try to win a third Tour crown come July.

 There were a few surprises in the roster released by the team. Despite announcing he was poised to sign a deal with Astana, Spanish rider Oscar Pereiro is not listed to be attending the team’s first meetings ahead of the 2010 campaign.

 His absence has raised questions about whether or not the 2006 Tour winner will be able to find a ride for next year.

A final-hour addition to the team is Josep Jufré, a handy Spanish climber who’s bounced around since turning pro in 1999. He rode two seasons for Davitamon-Lotto, where he helped Cadel Evans before moving to Fuji-Servetto for the past two years. 

Astana for 2010

  • Assan Bazayev
  • Alberto Contador
  • Valeriy Dmitriyev
  • Alexandr Dyachenko
  • David De la Fuente
  • Dmitry Fofonov
  • Maxim Gurov
  • Andriy Grivko
  • Josep Jufré
  • Jesús Hernández
  • Maxim Iglinskiy
  • Valentin Iglinskiy
  • Enrico Gasparotto
  • Romana Kireyev
  • Daniel Navarro
  • Benjamín Noval
  • Bolat Raimbekov
  • Sergey Renev
  • Mirko Salvaggi
  • Gorazd Stangelj
  • Paolo Tiralongo
  • Alexandre Vinokourov
  • Zeits Andrey

Related Articles