1. Home » News » Cyclocross » Northampton, Massachusetts, prepares for Cycle-Smart International cyclocross weekend.

Northampton, Massachusetts, prepares for Cycle-Smart International cyclocross weekend.

By Steve Frothingham

New England cyclocrossers are headed to Northampton, Massachusetts, this weekend for the Cycle-Smart International, the oldest UCI cyclocross race in the U.S.

This year’s event is a two-day affair for the first time since 1996 and race director (and pro racer) Adam Myerson said the course will be significantly different each day.

“We’ll use the traditional course on Saturday, and then have some big changes for Sunday,” said Myerson. “We’ll be using many of the same lanes, but will be connecting a lot of them backwards, and going opposite ways on the ride ups and drop offs. Expect a tighter course on Sunday. Our technical staff, led by longtime director J.D. Bilodeau, has worked very hard to put together two similar yet unique courses that I think everyone will enjoy.”

About 1,200 riders, total, are registered for the two days.

The men’s race will be a shootout to see who will take over the series lead heading into the homestretch, as current series leader Jamey Driscoll (Cyclocrossworld.com-Cannondale) will not be in attendance. The one rider who has a shot to wear the series leader after the weekend is Dan Timmerman (Reynolds/Swan Cycles), who has not finished worse than fifth in all the series races to date.

Other bike contenders include 2006 Northampton winner Matt White (BikeReg.com/Joe’s Garage), current masters national champion Andy Jacques-Maynes (Specialized/KMC p/b Cal Giant), regional up-and-comers Justine Lindine (Targetraining) and Matt O’Keefe (CCB/Volkswagen), and former series leader Chris Jones (Louis Garneau/Sonic), who returns to ‘cross after racing the Herald Sun Tour in Australia with the Team Type 1 road squad.

The women will be vying for a fresh leaders jersey as well, as series leader Amy Drombroski will be at the Boulder Cup in Colorado. This provides a golden opportunity to current runner-up Rebecca Wellons (Ridley), who is in line to grab her first series jersey after the weekend’s festivities

Sally Annis (NEBC/Cycleloft/Devonshire Dental) and former series champion Maureen Bruno-Roy (MM Racing p/b Seven Cycles) Josie Jacques-Maynes (Specialized/KMC p/b Cal Giant) and Laura Van Gilder also will contend for the wins and series points.

Related Articles